That Time Margaret Thatcher Spanked Christopher Hitchens

10 12 2016

Now I had never, ever thought of Mrs Thatcher as being sexy. Was I wrong? It seems so, according to Christopher Hitchins and Martin Amis …

The Bully Pulpit

Margaret Thatcher

“I had written a longish article for The New York Times Magazine, saying in effect that, if Labour could not revolutionize British society, then the task might well fall to the right. I had also written a shorter piece for the New Statesman, reporting from the Conservative Party conference and saying in passing that I thought Mrs. Thatcher was surprisingly sexy. (To this day, I have never had so much anger mail, saying, in effect, ‘How could you?’)

I felt immune to Mrs. Thatcher in most other ways, since for all her glib ‘free market’ advocacy on one front she seemed to be an emotional ally of the authoritarian and protectionist white-settler regime in Rhodesia. And it was this very thing that afforded me the opportunity to grapple with her so early in her career…

Almost as soon as we shook hands on immediate introduction, I felt that she…

View original post 885 more words

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

