Birth is not a beginning …

14 07 2011

Pressed for time at the moment, so am posting a few sometimes-surprising quotations found  in Paul Roland’s Reincarnation. I’ll give the book a proper review asap.

“Birth is not a beginning; death is not an end.” (Chuang Tsu)

“Reincarnation contains a most comforting explanation of reality by means of which Indian thought surmounts difficulties which baffle the thinkers of Europe.” (Albert Schweitzer)

“As we live through thousands of dreams in our present life, so is our present life only one of many thousands of such lives which we enter from the other more real life … and then return after death. Our life is but one of the dreams of that more real life, and so it is endlessly, until the very last one, the very real life – the life of God.” (Leo Tolstoy)

“I adopted the theory of reincarnation when I was 26. Genius is experience. Some seem to think that it is a gift or talent, but it is the fruit of long experience in many lives”. (Henry Ford)

“I look upon death to be as necessary to the constitution as sleep. We shall rise refreshed in the morning.” (Benjamin Franklin)

“I am certain that I have been here as I am now a thousand times before, and I hope to return a thousand times.” “As long as you are not aware of the continual law of Die and Be Again, you are merely a vague guest on a dark Earth.” (Johann Wolfgang von Goethe)

“Do you have any idea how many lives we must have gone through before we even got the first idea that there is more to life than eating or fighting …?” (Richard Bach – in Jonathan Livingston Seagull)

“Friends are all souls that we’ve known in other lives …” (George Harrison)

“I imagine death is like getting out of one car and getting into another.” (John Lennon)

“I did not begin when I was born, nor when I was conceived. I have been growing, developing through incalculable myriads of millenniums … All my previous selves have their voices, echoes, promptings in me.” (Jack London)

I hold that when a person dies
His soul returns again to earth;
Arrayed in some new flesh disguise,
Another mother gives him birth
With sturdier limbs and brighter brain
The old soul takes the road again. (John Masefield)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

